History

Main subject areas covered: Social Sciences, Sciences, Literature, Business, Arts, History, Economics, Political Science
JSTOR offers full text of thousands of important scholarly journals in numerous subject areas. The complete archives of these journals are available starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. The most recent 3-5 years of each journal are not included.

As featured on 60 Minutes, The HistoryMakers represents the nation’s largest African American video oral history collection, containing over 3,300 recorded interviews. 
From The HistoryMakers website: "By recording the stories of both the well-known and unsung African Americans from diverse backgrounds, The HistoryMakers seeks to preserve and elevate the cultural equity of the African American community to the level of its historical record, as well as to increase the cultural understanding of present and future generations."

Main subject area covered: African American Newspapers
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Newly digitized, these newspapers published by African Americans can now be browsed and searched online.

This collection provides the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877, featuring full text and images from over 7,600 periodicals from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. An excellent resource for historical primary source material.

The T&F Social Science & Humanities Library provides access to over 1,300 online academic journals. Subject content is wide-ranging and includes Anthropology, Arts and Humanities, Behavioral Science, Business, Education, Media Studies, Politics, Public Health, Sociology, and more.

Main subject area covered: History of the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Iter's bibliography covers all literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Over 1,100 journals are indexed, as well as over 700 monographs and essays.

Social Explorer provides interactive demographic data. Its mapping tools allow data to be easily visualized, and it also allows users to extract data table reports. Users may generate custom reports and maps, and they may create personal accounts to save their reports and maps.

Social Explorer’s U.S. data sources include the U.S. Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, the FBI Uniform Crime Report, American election results, Religious Congregations and Membership Study, Vulcan Project carbon emissions data, U.S. Business Patterns, and County Health Rankings and Roadmaps Program data. It also includes international data from the United Kingdom Census, Canadian Census, Eurostat, World Development Indicators, and Irish religion and population data.

Main subject area covered: All subjects.
Academic Search Premier provides indexing and abstracting of almost 7,000 peer-reviewed journals, with full text for over 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. All major academic subject areas are covered.

Main subject area covered: All subjects
The Academic OneFile database from Gale contains over 7,000 peer-reviewed scholarly journals covering all major subject areas, with over 5,000 of these titles available in full-text. Coverage ranges from 1980 to the present. Trying to access this from outside of NY State? If you're a Wagner College student or employee, enter password: wagner

Main Subject Area Covered: All subjects
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature on the Web. It provides links to thousands of full-text articles, and allows users to set Scholar Preferences such as linking to sources available in the Wagner College Library.