Starter Guide and Mapped Content - DO NOT DELETE -cp

Hi all, this guide works in two ways:

1. This page (tab), Creating New Guides, gives you the instructions for creating a new guide and special steps to make sure that your content maps to existing boxes and content. You can print this page for your convenience as you set up your new guide (it will be printer friendly if you click the Print Page link at the bottom of this guide)

2. The other pages (tabs), are the masters for the boxes that are mapped to all of our guides. No one but the Admin should ever change any content in the boxes on this guide because it will change the content in those boxes throughout all of the guides.

See below for all of the instructions, and see me any time if you have questions!

I would also be happy to create the guide for you so that you can just customize it after the fact as needed.

-CP (last updated 4/22/24)

1. Log in to LibApps
2. Click the blue dropdown and select LibGuides
3. Click on Content dropdown (orange toolbar)
4. Click Guides
5. Click Create Guide button
6. Choose Layout: Select Copy Content/layout from existing guide
7. Leave Local Guides radio button selected, then click the Select a Guide dropdown.
8. Recommended: select the following guides (to copy) because they are standardized and have all of the mapped content for that area:
   1. for Humanities subjects: select English guide
   2. for Social Sciences subjects: select Psychology guide
   3. exception: use the Business Admin guide for all business related subjects (has special content)
   4. for Science subjects: select Biology guide
9. Type in the name of your new guide (Leave description field blank)
10. Guide type = Subject Guide (unless you are a creating a guide intended for just one course; then choose Course Guide)
11. Click Create Guide button at bottom
12. Your guide is now created and you will be brought directly into your new guide.
13. Mapped content will have a recycle icon in the box title to let you know that this content is mapped to the starter guide and so you can't change it. The Admin can change it and it will update in all guides at once.
14. Now you can make your customizations, two of which are most important (below). See the instructions at right for both customizations:
    1. adding a new box for the customized databases list on the Find Articles page, and
    2. editing content in your Websites page

The Profile Box will be located in the Ask a Librarian page (tab) of every guide and will automatically load the profile content of the Guide Owner.

To edit content in your profile you must log in to LibApps, then select My Profile from the top orange toolbar, then you can edit as necessary.

Your image should be 105px wide and between 140-150px long.

Links for the library social media icons here are the URLs below:

• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Horrmann-Library/33327707892
• Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/horrmannlibrary/
• Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/user/WagnerCollegeLibrary

The text below the "email me" button, which lists your title and subject areas, should be in HTML to make the job title bold and insert a line break before your list of subjects. It can be found in the Widgets section of your profile, and this is the widget code for mine: feel free to copy and edit for your own guide:

<b>Senior Librarian,Technical Services</b><br /> Subjects: Film Studies, Food Studies, Literature, Modern Languages, Music, Theatre & Speech

Librarians:

To add the Recommended Databases box in your new guide:

1. Make sure you are in the Databases page (tab) first
2. Click Add Box in column 2 (below)
3. click Reuse Existing Box tab
4. Select guide Databases, A-Z
5. If you check the Copy box the database is no longer mapped, and any changes made to the database description by the systems librarian will not be reflected in your guide. If you wish to write a custom description then you must check the Copy box and manage it yourself.
6. The box will appear
7. Click the edit icon (pencil) in box title, change it to: Recommended Databases for Research
8. Click the edit icon (pencil and paper) next to any database you want to remove from your list and click Remove to delete
9. When you are finished you can delete this box (the box with my instructions) from your guide by clicking on the edit icon (pencil) in the title of this box.

Questions? Ask me!

Librarians:

When you want to add new links to your websites page please don't use the Rich text/HTML choice. Using the add link option is better because this way the link will be saved as an "asset" and can be reused in multiple guides and edited from the Content\Assets tab in the orange admin bar at the top of the LibGuides editing screen.

1. Make sure you are in the Websites page (tab)
2. Click on Add/Reorder
3. Select Link
4. Choose to create new link (fill out form) or Reuse existing link (you can search within the existing asset links)

Examples of mapped asset links below (with and without descriptions).