Open Educational Resources & Affordable Course Content

OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 with 300 open access journals. Today, this independent index contains almost 17 500 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Open access journals from all countries and in all languages are accepted for indexing.

DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.

The Open Research Library (ORL) is an aggregation of peer-reviewed, Open Access, scholarly monographs which is hosted on the BiblioBoard platform. Hosting makes the user experience consistent across the collection and enables users to maintain a single bookshelf for all of their Open Access book content.

arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 2,144,776 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.

SocArXiv, open archive of the social sciences, provides a free, non-profit, open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers, with the option to link data and code. SocArXiv is dedicated to opening up social science, to reach more people more effectively, to improve research, and build the future of scholarly communication.

American Prison Newspapers brings together hundreds of newspapers published within prisons by incarcerated people over the past 200 years. When complete, the collection will contain newspapers from prisons in every state, representing penal institutions of all kinds, including women-only institutions.

The Student Activism collection is intended to serve as a scholarly bridge from the extensive history of student protest in the United States to the study of today's vibrant, continually unfolding actions. The collection captures the voices of students across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States. The primary sources are broad-based across time, geography, and political viewpoint — from conservative to anarchist.

Unpaywall is a downloadable browser extension that harvests content directly from over 50,000 journals and open-access repositories from all over the world. They also use open data from ArXiv, PubMed Central, the DOAJ, Crossref (particularly their license info), and DataCite.

OAbutton provides free access to papers legally by scouring the web and emailing authors. It searches thousands of sources with millions of articles to link you to free, legal, full text articles instantly.