Chicago Manual of Style

Chicago Style
Chicago style manual and sample paper (Purdue University Online Writing Lab)
The Chicago Manual of Style Online
Website includes examples of Chicago Style citations in both Notes-Bibliography and Author-Date formats.
Chicago style sample paper (Full Note with Bibliography)
Sample paper from the Online Writing Lab of Purdue University. (Full Note with Bibliography is the more common Chicago format used.) (PDF)
Chicago Style - Sample Citations (Notes and Bibliography)
Sample notes and bibliography citations from the Chicago Manual of Style Online.
Chicago style sample paper (Author-Date)
Sample paper from the Online Writing Lab of Purdue University. (Author-Date is the less common Chicago format used.) (PDF)

The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
Call Number: Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2017
ISBN: 9780226287058
Publication Date: 2017-09-05

Additional Chicago Style Resources

Brief Guide to Writing the History Paper
From the Harvard College Writing Center
Citing Primary Sources: Chicago Style
From the Library of Congress, this brief guide gives examples of how to cite the most commonly used primary sources.
Style Guide for Chicago Manual Footnotes
This guide from the Hanover College History Department provides model footnotes that cite various types of sources. (Using the search function of your browser is an easy way to find the type of source you need.) This document was developed to provide illustrations of the types of citations our students use most.

The following information is needed to cite images in Chicago Manual of Style:

If the image is in a book, you will also need the author, title, publisher information, date, page, and figure or plate number of the reproduction.

If the image is online, you will also need an access date, website address, and in some cases an image ID number.

Primary Resource Document Analysis Worksheets (National Archives, PDFs)

more Education resources from the National Archives