Skip to main content

Copyright and Fair Use

Guide to Copyright and Fair Use at Wagner College

Creative Commons


The Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that facilitates the sharing and use of creative works and knowledge through free and widely accepted standard licenses.  The creator decides which level of protection to assign to a work by selecting the appropriate Creative Commons License. Creators can also decide which rights to reserve and which rights to waive for the benefit of other users. The four license types are as follows:

  • Attribution (BY):  Others may copy, distribute, and display a copyrighted work, but only if the creator is given appropriate credit.  All Creative Commons licenses have this requirement, which does not exist independently in copyright law.
  • Noncommercial (NC):  Others may copy, distribute, and display (and possibly adapt) a copyrighted work but for noncommericial purposes only.
  • NoDerivs (ND):  Others may copy, distribute, and display only identical copies of a copyrighted work, not translations or other derivative works based upon it.
  • ShareAlike (SA):  Others may distribute adaptations, translations, or other derivative works, but only under a license identical to the license chosen for the copyrighted work.

For additional information, follow the Creative Commons link from this page.


Forms and Documents