Marketing and Market Research

The Ad*Access Project presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.

Adflip.com is the world's largest searchable database of classic print ads. You can search by category, by decade, even by year. The 'what are you looking for' search box allows you to type in a brand name or a specific model name. Ads date back to the 1940's and feature all types of products.

Provides useful marketing advice and a library of free information resources, including articles and miscellaneous documents. Local community events centered around marketing are also included.

The Conference Board is the world's leading business membership and research organization, connecting senior executives from more than 2,200 enterprises in over 60 nations. A nonprofit, non-advocacy organization, The Conference Board produces the Consumer Confidence Index, the Leading Economic Indicators, and a wide range of reports on best business practices and the latest economic trends.

The Quirks.com glossary has defined more than 1,600 marketing research terms. Search by term, definition or by marketing research topic.

Data on population, immigration trends, local trade, and socioeconomic data for New York City and New York State. View the demographic profile of a specific area or create charts for two or more areas. Free registration required for access to some content.

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an international organization that was established to contribute to the growth of the world economy. It contains many original resources including statistics and research papers.

Billing itself as the "knowledge source for marketing since 1998", KnowThis provides many good links to marketing information. Includes industry associations and trade groups, glossary of marketing terminology, archived journal articles relating to marketing, and links to many other excellent web sites on marketing research.

Offering "Marketing Know-How from Professors and Professionals," MarketingProfs.com is unique in the world of marketing Websites in that it focuses on the strategies and tactics that marketing firms use. Free registration is required to access some of the content. A paid account is required for full access to all content.

Practical Ecommerce was founded in July 2005 by Kerry and Joy Murdock in Grand Junction, Colorado, U.S. Its mission is to provide down-to-earth articles and commentary to help ecommerce businesses. Their authors are leading ecommerce practitioners, consultants, and journalists.

The mission of BEA is to produce and disseminate accurate, timely, relevant, and cost-effective economic accounts statistics that provide government, businesses, households, and individuals with a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of economic activity. BEA's national, regional, and international economic accounts present basic information on such key issues as U.S. economic growth, regional economic development, and the Nation's position in the world economy.

United States Federal Government "fact-finding agency" covering the fields of labor economics and statistics. Reports on employment and unemployment, inflation and prices, pay and benefits, productivity and technology, spending and time management, etc. The site also provides tools for analyzing or viewing data.

Home page of the U.S. Census Bureau, contains a huge amount of data and statistics on demographics, economic activity, and labor. To search census data by geographic location, choose American FactFinder from the Census Department home page.

Highlights from the latest U.S. Economic Indicators, Agriculture, Manufacturing and Construction, County and City Data Book, County Business Patterns, Statistics of U.S. Businesses, Current Industrial Reports, Economic Data Programs Overview, Economic Census and Surveys, Governments, Income and Poverty, International trade, Research, Statistical Abstract of the United States, Data Access Tools.

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

Compilations of economic indicators for the United States gathered by the US Census department. Includes such indicators as Gross Domestic Project, employment and wage statistics, productivity measures, prices, money and security markets. Also includes some international economic statistics. Searchable.

Search for all SEC filings by a particular company.

Provides online access to the NAICS and allows you to search for appropriate codes.

Extensive collection of links to statistical and data sites from government as well as non-government organizations. Choose Census for links to census/demographic information, and choose Statistics for a huge list of statistical sources broken down by subject.

The State Department's Background Notes include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.