Nursing

For over 60 years, CDC has been dedicated to protecting health and promoting quality of life through the prevention and control of disease, injury, and disability. We are committed to programs that reduce the health and economic consequences of the leading causes of death and disability, thereby ensuring a long, productive, healthy life for all people.

eSkeletons provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy. The purpose of this site is to enable you to view the bones of both human and non-human primates and to gather information about them from the UT Austin Department of Anthropology's osteology database.

Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. For 3 decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time in order to encourage collaborations across communities and sectors, empower individuals toward making informed health decisions, and measure the impact of prevention activities.

A free, interactive anatomy program that provides access to high-quality medical images and allows learners to explore the human body by selecting a body segment from a lite or detailed index of body regions/systems, or by clicking on an image. Male and female anatomies are featured (no histology or cytology). (as reviewed in Choice, Feb. 2013)

The Kaiser Family Foundation is a non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., as well as the U.S. role in global health policy.

The Department of Health and Human Services is the principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans.This site provides important information on health related topics such as disease prevention, food safety, health insurance, exercise, vaccinations, and other government health initiatives. It also provides links to additional healthcare resources.

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) published its first Web site (www.nlm.nih.gov) in October of 1993 and was one of the first U.S. federal Web sites. In 1999 the site's use was 6 million page views and 380,000 unique visitors and has grown in fiscal year 2009 to over 42 million page views and 7.9 million unique visitors. The Web has become such an integral part of NLM's services that of the over 90,000 customer services requests made to NLM in fiscal year 2009, over 74,000 of those arrived via e-mail or a Web-based form.

Part of the World Health Organization (WHO) website, this page draws together descriptions of activities, reports, news and events, contacts and cooperating partners in the various WHO subdivisions working on this topic. It covers subjects such as health systems financing, national health accounts, health financing policy, the economics of financing reproductive health and spending on health. It includes links to press releases, projects / programmes, publications, fact sheets, features and relates links / websites. The site is available in a range of languages.

The American Nurses Association (ANA) is the only full-service professional organization representing the nation's 2.9 million registered nurses (RNs) through its 54 constituent member associations.

ANIA provides professional networking opportunities for nurses working in healthcare informatics and a forum for the advancement of nursing and nursing professionals in informatics.

NP Central offers variety of materials for nurse practitioners.

The Online Journal of Nursing Informatics (OJNI) is a free, international, professional, refereed publication that focuses on nursing informatics in all practice settings. OJNI is committed to addressing the theoretical and practical aspects of nursing informatics as it relates to the art of nursing. CINAHL indexes the journal.

U.S. Public Health Service Commissioned Corps officers serve in all the Health and Human Services Operating Divisions (such as CDC, FDA, and NIH), as well as in other federal agencies such as the Bureau of Prisons (BOP), the U.S. Coast Guard (USCG), the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the Division of Immigration Health Services (DIHS), the U.S. Marshals Service, and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).

This site offers information on schools and programs, ways to pay, tips to help you get accepted and get through nursing school, resources to help you pass the licensure exam, and how to build an amazing resume and land a nursing job after graduation.