Research Guides: Psychology: Psychological Tests and Measurements

Mental Measurements Yearbook

The Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) is a reference book series containing information and critical appraisals of English-language educational and psychological tests. Print copies of the MMY can be found in the library's Reference Section, under the call number REF BF431 .B9x

Psychological assessments and measurements

Adult ADHD Self-Report Scale (ASRS-v1.1)
This test is a self-reported questionnaire used to assist in the diagnosis of adult attention deficit hyperactivity disorder.

Adult Hope Scale (AHS)
This scale measures the Snyder's cognitive model of hope which defines hope as "a positive motivational state”. The adult hope scale contains 12 items. Four items measure pathways thinking, four items measure agency thinking, and four items are fillers. Participants respond to each item using a 8-point scale ranging from definitely false to definitely true.

Aggression Questionnaire (AGQ)
This is a self-report scale that is designed to measure four major components of aggression (physical aggression, verbal aggression, anger and hostility).
Altruistic Personality Questionnaire
This is a 20-item scale designed to measure altruistic tendency by gauging the frequency one engages in altruistic acts primarily toward strangers. Participants answer on a 5-point scale ranging from Never (0) to Very Often (4)
Athens Insomnia Scale (AIS)
The eight-item questionnaire evaluates sleep onset, night and early-morning waking,and sleep time and quality

Barratt Impulsiveness Scale (BIS-11)
This questionnaire is designed to assess the personality/behavioral construct of impulsiveness.
Beck Hopelessness Scale
This provides a self-report measure of one's negative expectations regarding the future. It consists of 20 true-false items arrayed within three factors: Feelings about the future, loss of motivation, and future expectations.Each optimistic response is scored as 0 and each pessimistic response is scored as 1. A total score is calculated by summing the pessimistic responses for each of the 20 items.

Big Five Inventory Short Form BFI-10
This is 10-item scale measuring the Big Five personality traits Extroversion, Agreeableness, Conscientiousness, Emotional Stability, and Openness.
Brief Resilient Coping Scale
This assessment captures tendencies of an individual to cope with stress adaptively. The scale focuses on the tendency to effectively use coping strategies in flexible ways to actively solve problems despite stressful circumstances.
Brief Resilience Scale
This is a simple self-assessment that individuals can complete to assess their resilience. It consists of six statements for individuals to agree or disagree with. When completed it generates a resilience score of between 6 and 30.

Cattell's 16 personality factors
This test identifies 16 dimensions of an individual’s personality. These factors consist of warmth, reasoning, emotional stability, dominance, liveliness, rule-consciousness, social boldness, sensitivity, vigilance, abstractedness, privateness, apprehension, openness to change, self-reliance, perfectionism, and tension.

Depression Anxiety Stress Scales 42 (DASS)
This test is a 42 item self-report scale designed to measure the negative emotional states of depression, anxiety and stress.
Epworth sleepiness scale
The ESS is a self-administered questionnaire with 8 questions. Respondents are asked to rate, on a 4-point scale (0-3), their usual chances of dozing off or falling asleep while engaged in eight different activities
General Self-Efficacy Scale
This is a 10-item psychometric scale that is designed to assess optimistic self-beliefs to cope with a variety of difficult demands in life
General Trust Scale
This a 6-item questionnaire that uses general statements to measure participants’ beliefs about honesty and trustworthiness of others.
Generalised Anxiety Disorder Assessment- (GAD-7)
This is a survey consisting of seven questions that is used to measure or assess the severity of generalised anxiety disorder (GAD). Each item asks the individual to rate the severity of his or her symptoms over the past two weeks.
Holmes and Rahe Stress Scale
This is a well-known tool for measuring the amount of stress an individual experiences within the past year.

Introversion Scale
This scale was developed by McCroskey to be distinct from measures of communication apprehension. It permits the measurement of introversion without the contamination of communication apprehension items and allows the examination of both introversion and communication apprehension as predictors of communication behaviors independently of each other.
Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory (MMPI)
This inventory is one of the most commonly used psychological assessments. MMPI is a self-report inventory consisting of true-false questions about an individual. There are several versions of this test that differ due to the amount of questions and test duration.
Obsessive-Compulsive Inventory-Revised (OCI-R)
This is a self-rating scale that is designed to assess the severity and type of symptoms of those potentially dealing with OCD.
Open Source psychometrics project
This site provides a variety of interactive personality tests with detailed results. Such as the Big 5 Personality Test and Cattell's 16 personality factors test. These tests range from serious and widely used scientific tools to self reported questionnaires.

Penn State Worry Questionnaire for Adults
The PSWQ is a 16-item self-report scale designed to measure an individual’s disposition to worry. Also it measures their frequency, intensity, and tendency for worry to be generalized. Participants are asked to rate items on a 5 point Likert scale
Perceived Stress Scale
This scale is a widely used psychological assessment that measures an individual’s perception of stress. It is a measure of the degree to which it is stressful. This ten question survey examines the participant’s feelings and thoughts during a 4 week period.
Pittsburgh Sleep Quality Index
This is a 19-item, self-rated questionnaire designed to measure sleep quality and disturbance over the past month.
Proactive Coping Inventory
This scale was created to measure different proactive approaches to coping and contains seven sub-scales.
Rosenberg Self-Esteem Scale
This is a 10-item self-report questionnaire that measures self-esteem. It consists of 10 statements related to overall feelings of self-worth or self-acceptance. The items are answered on a four-point scale ranging from strongly agree to strongly disagree. It is recommended for ages twelve years old to adults.

Shyness Scale
This measure is also referred to as the McCroskey Shyness Scale. It was developed to obtain individual's self-report of their shy behavior. Unlike many shyness scales that have been developed in the field of Psychology, this scale does not confound communication apprehension with shy behavior.
Social Phobia Inventory (SPIN)
This is a self reported seventeen item questionnaire for screening and measuring the severity of social anxiety disorder.
Spence Children’s Anxiety Scale
This is a psychological questionnaire designed to identify symptoms of various anxiety disorders in children. This website has downloadable scales for children and parents. Also provides scoring and test administration information.
Stanford–Binet Intelligence Scales
This is a self reported assessment that is designed to measure five factors of cognitive ability. These factors include fluid reasoning, knowledge, quantitative reasoning, visual-spatial processing and working memory. Both verbal and nonverbal responses are measured. Each factor is given a weight and the combined score is often reduced to a ratio known commonly as the intelligence quotient, or IQ.
Stroop test
This popular test measures the delay in reaction time between congruent and incongruent stimuli. Also known as the Stroop effect.It requires individuals to view a list of words printed in a different color. Then participants are tasked with naming the color of the words, not the actual words in a certain period of time.

Toronto Empathy Questionnaire
This is a 16-item self-report tool that can be used to assess empathy using 4 point Likert type scale.

UCLA Loneliness Scale version 3
This is a 20-item scale designed to measure one's subjective feelings of loneliness as well as feelings of social isolation.

State Self-Esteem Scale
This is a 20-item scale that measures a participant’s self-esteem at a given point in time. The 20 items are subdivided into 3 components of self-esteem such as, performance self-esteem, social self-esteem,and appearance self-esteem.
Wong’s Emotional Intelligence Scale
This is a self-report assessment that measures emotional intelligence. It is a scale based on the four ability dimensions, such as appraisal and expression of emotion in the self and others, regulation of emotion in the self and use of emotion to facilitate performance.
Beck Depression Inventory
This is a 21-item, self-report rating inventory that measures characteristic attitudes and symptoms of depression.

Statistical Testing Tools and Psychological Resources

Likert Scale
Type of rating scale used to assess opinions, attitudes, or behaviors. In order to collect data, participants are presented with questions or statements and a range of possible responses. Responses usually consist of five or seven items. Each item is given a numerical score so that the data can be analyzed quantitatively.
PsychTools.info
Repository of free psychological assessment tools for students and faculty research..
Qualtrics
An online survey tool. Users can create surveys and share them by email or social media, as well as analyze responses to their questions. Wagner students and faculty can log into Qualtrics with their All Access username and password.
Random.org.
This website is a random number generator that produces a sequence of numbers that cannot be reasonably predicted. This generator has various experimental uses, including the random assignment of participants to treatment conditions.
Social Science Statistics
A website that provides free statistical tools and resources. It is divided into three sections, statistical calculators, descriptive statistics, and simple chart makers.
Surveymonkey.com
An online survey software that helps you to create and run professional online surveys. It offers a basic plan that allows users to create and survey for free. This plan allows surveys with up to ten questions or elements (including question types, descriptive text, or images).
Vassarstats.net
A collection of useful statistical tools that allow import and export of data.
This site can be used for statistical computation, probability, correlation and regression

Psychological Test finders

ETS Test Collection Database
A library of 20,000 tests and other measurement devices providing information on standardized tests. The database is a comprehensive listing of assessment instruments from the early 1900s to the present.