Modern Languages

Created and maintained by Alan Liu of U.C. Santa Barbara, Voice of the Shuttle is one of the best Web sources for literature research available today.

The general catalog of the Bibliothèque Nationale, represents nearly the entire collection of materials at the BN, with some exceptions (see the web page for details).

A large Francophone portal of sites related to literary theory, housing the online journal, Acta Fabula, online colloques and "L'Atelier de la théorie littéraire de Fabula," a "mobile encyclopedia" of collaborative texts. Conference listings are also located on this site.

Begun in 1997 as the major digitization project at the Bibliothèque Nationale de France, Gallica includes full-text of over 100,000 volumes and 300,000 images covering the Middle Ages to the beginning of the twentieth century, with an emphasis on nineteenth-century material. Residing in Gallica are dictionaries and encyclopedias, journals, manuscripts, recordings and images. Various collections compose "Les Dossiers de Gallica," such as Gallica Classique (Garnier editions), le dossier Proust, Voyages en France, Le Rêve d'Emile Zola dans tous ses états, and Voyages en Afrique. From Gallica's main page, click on "Recherche" to search for literary texts (by title words, author, subject) or to search for words in texts via "recherche libre."

Die Elektronische Zeitschriftenbibliothek ist ein kooperativer Service von 286 Bibliotheken mit dem Ziel, ihren Nutzern einen einfachen und komfortablen Zugang zu elektronisch erscheinenden wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften zu bieten.

Links to primary source documents relating to German history, some transcribed, some in translation.

Created and maintained by Alan Liu of U.C. Santa Barbara, Voice of the Shuttle is one of the best Web sources for literature research available today.

Offers complete full-text versions of the Divine Comedy in Italian and two English translations. Also includes biographical information, scholarly resources and image collections. The ILTweb Digital Dante Project is created and maintained by the Institute for Learning Technologies at Columbia University.

An excellent source for materials related to Bocaccio's Decameron, including biographical, textual and contextual information. Site offers advanced search options and browsing. Maintained by Italian Studies faculty at Brown University and University of Massachusetts Amherst.

Created and maintained by Alan Liu of U.C. Santa Barbara, the Voice of the Shuttle is an award-winning site for literature research.

Created and maintained by Alan Liu of U.C. Santa Barbara, Voice of the Shuttle is one of the best Web sources for literature research available today.

Gateway to resources about the Spanish language and culture in Spanish created by the Instituto Cervantes. It offers digital contents related to teaching Spanish as a second language, hispanic literature and the arts. Its targeted audience is primarily teaching faculty, students, translators and hispanists. It also includes a well-organized subject directory focused on hispanic literature and Spanish language known as the Oteador.

This is the most comprehensive hispanic digital library. It aims to preserve and make accessible the hispanic cultural heritage available in various formats (mainly texts, images and videos). It includes portals organized by topics, authors, institutions, and historic figures. It offers two extensive sections devoted to Hispanic Language and Literature.