Research Guides: History: Find Articles

The New York Times

Sign up for NYTimes.com Access Pass Wagner College currently offers a free access pass for NYTimes.com content to current students, faculty, and staff.
Sign up at accessnyt.com when you are connected to the campus network and create an account using your Wagner email address.
After you have created your account you can access unlimited content in The New York Times website and historic archive at any time.
For details about the access pass coverage and for more information view our New York Times LibGuide.
The New York Times is also available in our full text databases from 1980-present.

Recommended Databases for Research

African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Main subject area covered: African American Newspapers
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Newly digitized, these newspapers published by African Americans can now be browsed and searched online.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection, 1691-1877 This link opens in a new window
This collection provides the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877, featuring full text and images from over 7,600 periodicals from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. An excellent resource for historical primary source material.
ITER Gateway to the Middle Ages This link opens in a new window
Main subject area covered: History of the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Iter's bibliography covers all literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Over 1,100 journals are indexed, as well as over 700 monographs and essays.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Main subject areas covered: Social Sciences, Sciences, Literature, Business, Arts, History, Economics, Political Science
JSTOR offers full text of over 3,700 important scholarly journals in numerous subject areas. The complete archives of these journals are available starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. The most recent 3-5 years of each journal are not included.
OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is the library's comprehensive search tool. Search it to find all of our books, ebooks, articles, and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Main Subject Area Covered: All subjects
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature on the Web. It provides links to thousands of full-text articles, and allows users to set Scholar Preferences such as linking to sources available in the Wagner College Library.

Revolutionary America Periodicals

The library has microfilm of some very early American periodicals and other documents from the period. View the PDF below for a complete list with coverage dates. Ask a librarian to gain access to this microfilm in the library.

Revolutionary Periodicals on Microfilm
List of all Revolutionary period documents and periodicals held on Microfilm in the Horrmann Library

History

Search for Journals

Interlibrary Loan

The New York Times

Recommended Databases for Research

Revolutionary America Periodicals