This is the "Home" page of the "Wagner College Archive" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Wagner College Archive   Tags: archive, wagner college  

The Wagner Archive is dedicated to collecting and preserving materials documenting the history and legacy of Wagner College.
Last Updated: Jan 21, 2014 URL: http://wagner.libguides.com/archive Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

From the Archives...

Wagner Memorial Lutheran College

Class of 1886

 

Welcome to the Wagner College Archive

Wagner Archive - Mission

The Wagner Archive is dedicated to preserving the history and legacy of Wagner College by collecting, preserving, and making accessible materials documenting the development of the College from its 19th-century beginnings as a Lutheran proseminary in Rochester, N.Y., through its move to Staten Island in 1918, and its growth and development into the renowned institution it is today.


Wagner Archive - Guidelines and Policies

The Archive houses a unique body of materials containing information of administrative, legal, fiscal, and historical value to the institution. With this in mind, the Archive welcomes donations of materials that further the understanding and appreciation of this history.

The list below broadly identifies the material collected by the Wagner Archive. It is by no means exhaustive, but serves to guide the Wagner community in understanding the material housed and maintained in the Archive.

  • Material documenting the creation of the college including correspondence, financial documents, photographs, and other relevant material dating back to the late 19th century.
  • Academic material including course bulletins and catalogs, student handbooks and other documents.
  • Official publications produced by the Wagner community, including student and alumni newspapers, literary magazines, yearbooks, newsletters, programs of events, and promotional material.
  • Scrapbooks of news clippings relating to the campus, its faculty, staff, students, and alumni.
  • Other documents, publications, and photographs deemed valuable to the preservation of the institutional history of the College as determined by the College Archivist and College administration.

The Wagner Archive generally does not collect non-documentary material, such as clothing, artifacts, or other memorabilia unless it is of unique historical value.

 

Access

The Wagner Archive is a closed stacks collection. Please email or call the Archives office for research requests.

Hours:
Tuesday & Friday
8:30am to 4pm

Phone: (718) 420-4352
wagner.archive@wagner.edu

 

How to Cite Archival Content

Please be sure to give full credit to the Horrmann Library, Wagner College for all content accessed in the Wagner College or Markham Archives.

Examples of proper citation of materials in the archives:

Correspondence
Coolbrith, Ina. Letter, 23 March 1916, to Edwin Markham. Edwin Markham Archive, Horrmann Library, Wagner College.

Markham, Edwin. Telegram, 26 June 1918, to Secretary Baker, Washington D.C., War Department. Edwin Markham Archive, Horrmann Library, Wagner College.

Photographs
"Mark Wiesner, 1950", Football Photographs. Wagner College Archive, Horrmann Library, Wagner College.

NOTE: Citations are automatically generated for content in our digital collections, just click on an item and you will see the citation information within the record.

For further examples, see the Library of Congress guide to citing primary sources.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip